Payne Scholarships

2016 Scholarships

Edmund D. Cooke Sr. Scholarship Award:Laymah Cisco
The Peter and Heartha Kampen Memorial Scholarship for Academic Excellence: Lucinda Burgess
The Donald W. Thompson Memorial Scholarship: Yolanda Tinsley
Rev. and Mrs. Wesley E. Wharton Scholarship: Charles Flowers
The Dr. Jamye Coleman Williams and Dr. McDonald Williams Annual Scholarship in Memory of Rev. F. Douglass Coleman, Sr.: Sheila Evans-Tranumn
The Rev. Cornelia Wright Memorial Scholarship: Michelle Creer
Dr. Larry and Inez Perry Award: Samantha Douglas-Lightner
The Reverend Henry McNeal Brown Memorial Scholarship: Rickey Curry
Victor E. Bibbins, Sr., Ph.D. Scholarship: Ivy Berry

2016 Awards

The Faculty Award For Outstanding Service: Felicia Bagneris
The Faculty Award For Academic Achievement: Samantha Douglas-Lightner
The Community Service Award: Phillip Turner
The National Scholarly Achievement Award: Charles Flowers
The Payne Research Award: Jacqueline Norris-Baker

Victor E. Bibbins, Sr. Ph.D. Annual Scholarship

In loving memory of Dr. Victor E. Bibbins, Sr., a $1500 scholarship will be disbursed from the funds donated in his memory, through the Metropolitan AME Church Scholarship Endowment – PayneTanner Memorial for a student admitted to/attending Payne Theological Seminary in Wilberforce, Ohio.

Applications are accepted February 15 – April 15 of each year.
MAIL to: Metropolitan AME Church Scholarship Endowment – Payne
Tanner Memorial, P.O. Box 19322, Washington, DC 20036


Recommendation Form

Church Mutual Religious Scholars Program

CM CARES, the Church Mutual Insurance Company Foundation has established a scholarship program to assist students pursuing an advanced degree in religious studies at an accredited theological seminary, college or university of higher learning.

CM CARES has partnered with Scholarship America®, the nation’s largest designer and manager of scholarships, to administer the program. Awards are granted without regard to race, color, creed, religion, sexual orientation, age, gender, disability or national origin.


Applicants for the Church Mutual Religious Scholars Program must:

-Be enrolled in a full-time, advanced degree (postsecondary) religious studies program at an accredited theological seminary, college or university of higher learning, for the entire 2017-18 academic year.
-Demonstrate personal impact throughout education, work experiences, and volunteerism.
-Have a minimum grade point average of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale or its equivalent.
-Be committed to entering the practice of full-time ministry in the United States following completion of studies, including leading a denominational congregation, or worship group, or serving in religious leadership at a house of worship.


If selected as a recipient, the student will receive a $5,000 award. Up to fifty (50) awards will be granted.
Awards are one-time only and not renewable. Scholarship recipients are not eligible to reapply in future years.
Awards are for students in advanced-degree religious study programs in accredited universities, colleges, and seminaries.

For more information

Call: 1-507-931-1682 and ask for the Church Mutual Religious Scholars Program


If you measure your own success by the contributions you make to others,
then help Payne Theological Seminary educate its students.
Your success will become society’s success. Make a gift today.